Behaviour Management

So my whole “blog-a-reflection-a-day” thing went screaming out the window after about 4 days or something…I was on a roll too…

Are you one of those people on your dream prac, where everything is going smoothy-smooth, and your mentor is wonderful, and the kids are wonderful, and you are teaching full days, and you have a unicorn in the corner that farts glitter? I don’t want to hear from you – I love you all, but no, I don’t want to hear from you.

My prac is wonderful, I am learning a truckload about behaviour management and almost nothing on ICT, but I am drowning. My mentor is very supportive, very fair, unbiased, and gives excellent feedback. She makes time for me everyday to sit down and go through whatever I need help with, but I am finding myself massively out of my depth in this class. As I repeatedly tell anyone who will listen, the class is a low-performing cohort in a low Naplan-performance school, and it is combined with SEP. Depending on the subject some of our kids go to SEP, and some of theirs come over to us, and some go out of the class altogether in smaller learning groups, and it is confusing. There are at least 3 children in the class who are classified as “trauma kids”, so are either in foster care or are on the watch list. In the SEP class there are children with severe autism, Asperger’s, cerebral palsy, deafness, and chronic behaviour issues. Someone is suspended from that class every week.

I am currently doing battle with a child who refuses to acknowledge my authority in the classroom, and talks back, talks over the top of me, repeats everything I say, is defiant, refuses to obey instructions, and is disruptive to the learning of all the other students in the room. At the moment she is ignoring her usual teacher because apparently now I am the teacher, not her, but she is defying every move I make. I have had to put together a behaviour management plan – to be implemented in the morning – but I am terrified that it will backfire and escalate. I am terrified that I am going to fail my prac and have to do it again (though, just think how good I would be…), and I am terrified that I will not make it as a teacher. I did not feel like this before prac.

MY mentor gave me a book on behaviour management that was put together from this site, and if I have any kindred spirits out there on this I encourage you to check it out.

leobanner

 

Anyway, rant over. I know I cannot be the only one out there having a hard time of it, but if I am not then you others are damn well hidden – please make contact!!!

 

About jacquelinehowlett

I live in Townsville, I crochet, go to yoga and pilates, walk, study, and drink craft beers. Me in a nutshell.
This entry was posted in EDC3100. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Behaviour Management

  1. Hi Jac, why dont you approach the kids from a different angle … find out what they like, what their interests are and incorporate this into your lessons. Play games. We know heaps can be learnt through fun. Engage them and embrace their differences … they probably just want some to acknowledge and listen to them. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • Nah, good idea but this kid is very damaged goods, and I wish it were that simple – as a result of her life to date she has some bad trust issues, is often absent or won’t return to class, and is on medication – it’s not just me and it is no as simple as it sounds…but thank you for dropping by and the comment!

      Like

  2. sharynwblog says:

    Hi Jac, I totally understand where you are coming from. I also have a wonderful mentor teacher – she is the HOSE in the SEU where I am doing my Prac, also sits down with me, etc, etc. I think the whole problem is the time span we are under while doing our Prac – we don’t have enough time to really get to know these kids in the sense where we can use the behaviour management stragegies we need to ‘win’ these students over. I also work in a Special School so I just think it is a time thing – if you were there longer it would be OK.
    I felt the same as you last Friday – had a lesson where one of the students would not even look at the front of the class, talking, hated everything, etc, etc. He is also in Foster care and found out was in an emergency temporary placement last week. I just think, what can you really do when a young student is in that prediciment – something has to give and sometimes it will be the poor teacher and school.
    I felt the same as you as well last week – am I really cut out to be a teacher ?, felt like I just didn’t know what to do next while trying to teach this class. Because you are so worried I think you will make a great teacher – if you didn’t care that’s when you should be worried. A behaviour management book is all good but I am sure when you get out there teaching your own class you will build enough of a relationship where you will know what to do-can only ever do your best so try not to beat yourself up about it (I know that’s easy for me to say hey).
    Keep smiling and remember there are others out there who feel exactly like you do – this has been my hardest Prac ever (I was glad when I read your blog-thought for a while I was the only one as well:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your reply, it is comforting to know that I am not alone in feeling this way. I am loving my placement, I don’t want to sound like I am not, but there are some challenging behaviours out there that until this prac I had only seen in books…3 weeks is completely NOT enough time to form sufficient ties to the students to see real progress, and I also must remember that I am a student, no one is expecting me to be perfect – only me, and those expectations are unfair.
      Thank you again.

      Like

  3. You are not alone Lovely! I’ve had a few days where I have been close to tears. Take it all in your stride and remember it’s not personal. You will be a fabulous teacher as you are able to reflect and devise a plan for your troubled student. Just be their best supporter. Encourage the smallest, positive thing you see and you will build those positive teacher – student relationship. Go get them Tiger! I believe in you ๐Ÿ˜Š

    Like

    • Thank you, Mrs Kelly! Yes, I must remember that it is not personal. These kids have some heartbreaking stories and I need to keep it all in perspective – it really is just that one kid that I am not reaching…I guess this is teaching, hey?
      Thank you again for your kind words.

      Like

  4. Pingback: The scary world of behaviour “management”. – teachingwithfletch

  5. Pingback: Coming to the end……… | You have no control in play, only a partnership

  6. Pingback: Behaviour Management is what I was really scared of. – karen76blog

Leave a Reply

